30,000 votes cast in Red Funnel's 2014 myisleofwight Awards

19-02-2015 The polls have now closed for Red Funnel’s 2014 myisleofwight Awards with a record 30,000+ public votes cast.

Visitors to the Isle of Wight were asked to show their love for their favourite tourism businesses and vote for their stand-out Island experiences from 2014.

Now in its third year, Red Funnel’s myisleofwight Awards showcases the very best the Island’s tourism industry has to offer, as voted for by the people whose opinion counts the most – the visitors!

The Awards are the Island’s only visitor voted for awards and have grown rapidly in popularity from 4,000 votes cast in 2012 to over 30,000 in 2014. They reflect the format of Red Funnel’s myisleofwight.com; The Island’s Independent Guide, with 26 award categories covering the best ‘Things to Do & See’, ‘Favourite Places to Eat’ and ‘Top Places to Stay’.

This year’s winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 19th March at Northwood House, where the top three nominees from each category will be invited to see who has scooped each of the coveted handmade Glory Art Glass trophies to be presented by Kevin George, Red Funnel’s CEO.

Jonathan Green, Red Funnel’s marketing & communications director said: “Red Funnel’s myisleofwight Awards are unique in that they recognize exceptional tourism businesses that consistently exceed the expectations of their customers. They are the tourism industry’s only public voted for awards and I am delighted so many people took part”.

The editor of myisleofwight, Alix Robinson added: “It’s amazing the way that Island tourism businesses get behind the spirit of the awards – all nominees showcase a very high standard of customer service and are setting such a great example for new businesses to follow. This year the awards night will be bigger to include new nominees, as well as firms who have polled strongly in the previous two years.”

Voting will open shortly for the 2015 awards at myisleofwight.com and the public will have until the end of the year to cast their votes.