A fascinating 17th-century town hall without a town! The tiny village of Newtown once had 2 members of Parliament and the Town Hall was used for often turbulent elections. Exhibition includes the 'Ferguson's Gang' – a mysterious group of benefactors.
Newtown Old Town Hall was built in 1256, and is the town hall of the former mediaeval and later rotten borough of Newtown on the Isle of Wight. Newtown is now a small village, and its town hall is owned by the National Trust. It is a Grade II listed building.
After many years of neglect the building was repaired in 1933 under the supervision of John Eric Miers Macgregor OBE, a specialist conservation architect who managed to save the derelict structure. The repair was funded by Ferguson's Gang, a mysterious group of young annonymous benefactors who endowed Newtown Old Town Hall to the National Trust and agreed for it to be run as a Youth Hostel for fifteen years.
An exhibition of the exploits of the Gang can be seen in the building today, which is open to the public during the summer months, for a small admission fee.
The Gang were influenced to save the Old Town Hall by Black Mary, a supporter of Ferguson's Gang and the mother of Peggy Pollard (AKA Bill Stickers) whose home on the Island was close by.